The 2014 HKFC International 3s

The HKFC International 3s is the club’s annual team squash event involving a series of team matches spread across three days of exhausting and frenetic squash activity. The 8th annual event was held in the club in May, with three events – a Men’s Open, a Men’s Masters Open and a Ladies Open – a total of 22 four-man teams (one reserve per team) homing in on the HKFC from as far afield as Malaysia and Singapore.

The Men’s Open event was as competitive as ever, with several full-time professionals entering teams and thrilling the crowds with their play and endeavour. Not surprisingly, the final was contested between two such outfits – ProStar Champions and KCC Men’s Team. As everybody fought off their Saturday night hangovers, the ProStar Champions triumphed early on Sunday morning, winning the final by two matches to one. The winning Men’s team comprised Elvinn Keo, Wong Wai Chung, Adrian Ng and Dick Lau (former Hong Kong number one) – not a bad outfit. They were too strong for the runners-up from KCC who included Hong Kong number two, Leo Au, Yeung Ho Wai, Chris Lo and Ivan Fung in their squad.

The Men’s Masters Open was an altogether more relaxed, chilled affair. The top two seeded teams effortlessly made their way through to the finals without too much of a scare, and it was The HKFC Moldies (Malcolm Kerr, Keith Frith and Hugh Dyus, with Simon Barton as reserve) who prevailed in an entertaining final against ISRC Old Boys (Marc Meldrum, Bjorn Fjelddahl, Evil Ajay and Julian Ragless as reserve).

The Ladies Open event final matched Perrier Ladies against our own HKFC Ladies team - the runaway winners of the final were the Perrier Ladies, who triumphed 3-0 in the final. The winning ladies team were represented by Eunice Tong, Vanessa Chu, Jannis Lam and Shina Leung. The beaten finalists comprised Rachel Sutcliffe, Julie Savoie, Emma Dunscombe and Monique Wong.

Player of the tournament was ProStar’s Elvinn Keo. There were also notable wins in the Men’s Plate for One Stop Squash (Vincent Cheung, Chiu Ho Fai, Chiu Ho Ming and Josh Attwell) and in the Men’s Bowl for Spankys (Big Mattie Robinson, Simon Barton, Jonno Barton and Big Dave Cross).

Prizes were awarded, speeches were made and then all the competitors retired to the Happy Valley Suite for an afternoon of brunch, champagne, beer and quality discussion.